### KIRKLEES COUNCIL

## **MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES AND PANELS 2010/11**

	Page
Corporate Governance and Audit Committee	2
Licensing and Safety Committee	3
Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee	4
Personnel Committee	5
Planning and Highways Committee	6
Planning Sub-Committee (Heavy Woollen Area)	7
Planning Sub-Committee (Huddersfield Area)	8
Standards Committee	9
Appeals Panel	10
Overview and Scrutiny Panels	11
Overview and Scrutiny Panel for Children and Young People	11
Overview and Scrutiny Panel for Development and Environment	11
Overview and Scrutiny Panel for Resources	11
Overview and Scrutiny Panel for Well Being and Communities	11
Batley and Birstall & Birkenshaw Committee	12
Dewsbury Committee	13
Huddersfield Committee	14
Mirfield, Denby Dale and Kirkburton Committee	15
Spen Valley Committee	16
The Valleys Committee	17

#### CORPORATE GOVERNANCE AND AUDIT COMMITTEE

Members 7

(Draw from each of the largest 4 groups (excluding group leaders), plus ex officio (non-voting) Members, namely Cabinet Portfolio holder for Corporate or equivalent; Chair of Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee; and Chair of Standards Committee and provision for Treasury Management expertise)

LABOUR (2)	LIB DEM (1)	CONSERVATIVE (2)	GREEN PARTY (1)
E Firth B Jones	J Smithson*	D Hall L Smaje	D Hardcastle

(One general vacancy)

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

## LICENSING AND SAFETY COMMITTEE

LABOUR (5)	LIB DEM (5)	CONSERVATIVE (5)	GREEN PARTY (1)
M Ahmed S Hall C Harris M Hussain P O'Neill	C Iredale* R Parchment C Stanfield L Wilkinson T Woodhead	J Cook J Dodds A Murphy E Ward D Yates	D Hardcastle

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

#### **OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE**

Members 7

To compromise, on a 2:2:2:1 ratio, the Chair, 4 Scrutiny Lead Members, and 2 other elected Members.

LABOUR (2) LIB DEM (2) CONSERVATIVE (2) GREEN PARTY (1)

### PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

Members 9

LABOUR (3) LIB DEM (3) CONSERVATIVE (3)

## PLANNING AND HIGHWAYS COMMITTEE

LABOUR (5)	LIB DEM (5)	CONSERVATIVE (5)
M Akhtar	R Iredale	M Bolt
B Jones	A Pinnock	D Hall
P McBride	J Smithson	A Murphy
M Sarwar	D Woodhead	K Sims
M Sokhal	T Woodhead	C Smith*

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

## PLANNING SUB-COMMITTEE (HEAVY WOOLLEN AREA)

LABOUR (6)	LIB DEM (2)	CONSERVATIVE (7)
M Akhtar M Harkin G Lowe P Kane* P O'Neill C Scott	J Lawson A Pinnock	J Cook D Firth A Murphy S Patel K Taylor E Ward D Yates

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

## PLANNING SUB-COMMITTEE (HUDDERSFIELD AREA)

LABOUR (5)	LIB DEM (5)	CONSERVATIVE (4)	INDEPENDENT (1)
J Calvert B Jones M Sarwar M Sokhal	C Iredale N Turner L Wilkinson* D Woodhead	J Cook A Murphy K Sims B Smith	T Lyons
M Walton	T Woodhead		

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

#### STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Members 6 (Not to include the Leader or more than one Cabinet Member, and to include, as far as possible, Members from at least 4 groups; plus 5 external Members, one of whom will be Chair, and 4 Parish Council representatives)

LABOUR (2)	LIB DEM (1)	CONSERVATIVE (2)	)
------------	-------------	------------------	---

K Smith D Ridgway N Patrick M Sokhal C Smith

(One general vacancy)

#### **External Members:**

Mr Paul Blythe\* Mr Derek Binns Professor Alan Kitson (2 vacancies)

#### **Parish Council Representatives:**

Councillor Peter Cunnington Councillor Charles Kaye (2 vacancies)

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

### **APPEALS PANEL**

### Members 14

LABOUR (4)	LIB DEM (5)	CONSERVATIVE (4)
J Calvert V Kendrick G Lowe S Pandor K Smith	R Battye K Hussain* C Iredale A Marchington T Woodhead	J Dodds V Lees-Hamilton N Patrick K Taylor

(One general vacancy)

<sup>\*</sup> Chair

#### **OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY PANELS**

#### Members 24

#### LABOUR (9) LIB DEM (7) CONSERVATIVE (7) GREEN PARTY (1)

#### (i) Children and Young People (6)

M Akhtar M Sarwar M Fearnley C Scott R Parchment B Smith

#### (ii) Development and Environment (6)

S Hall C Pattison C Lees-Hamilton K Sims

N Patrick

One vacancy (Liberal Democrat)

#### (iii) Resources (6)

E Firth D Ridgway

D Hall J Stewart Turner

B Jones E Ward

### (iv) Well-Being and Communities (6)

R Battye V Kendrick J Calvert A Marchington

C Iredale L Smaje

#### **BATLEY AND BIRSTALL & BIRKENSHAW COMMITTEE**

#### Members 9

# LABOUR (6) CONSERVATIVE (3)

M Akhtar R Light

G Lowe A Palfreeman

M Harkin E Smaje

H Mayet P O'Neill S Pandor

### **DEWSBURY COMMITTEE**

LABOUR (5)	LIB DEM (2)	CONSERVATIVE (1)	INDEPENDENT (1)
M Ahmed E Firth M Hussain P Kane C Scott	K Hussain N Hussain	S Patel	K Iqbal

### **HUDDERSFIELD COMMITTEE**

LABOUR (10)	LIB DEM (8)	<b>GREEN PARTY (3)</b>
J Calvert C Harris B Jones M Khan P McBride C Pattison M Sarwar K Smith M Sokhal M Walton	R Battye C Burke A Denham R Parchment J Smithson C Stanfield L Wilkinson T Woodhead	A Cooper G Simpson J Stewart Turner

#### **MIRFIELD COMMITTEE**

#### Members 9

#### **CONSERVATIVE (8)** GREEN (1)

M Bolt

J Cook

J Dodds

V Lees-Hamilton

A Murphy

C Smith

K Taylor E Ward

D Hardcastle

### **SPEN VALLEY COMMITTEE**

LABOUR (3)	LIB DEM (3)	CONSERVATIVE (3)
S Hall	J Lawson	M Bates
V Kendrick	A Pinnock	D Hall
D Sheard	K Pinnock	D Yates

#### THE VALLEYS COMMITTEE

LIB DEM (7)	CONSERVATIVE (4)	INDEPENDENT (1)
M Fearnley C Iredale R Iredale A Marchington D Ridgway N Turner D Woodhead	D Firth N Patrick K Sims B Smith	T Lyons

### **SUBSTITUTES PANEL 2010/11**

### Labour (6)

- J Calvert
- E Firth
- S Hall
- **B** Jones
- V Kendrick
- D Sheard

### Lib Dem (6)

- R Battye
- A Denham
- C Iredale
- J Lawson
- C Stanfield
- D Woodhead

### Conservative (6)

- V Lees-Hamilton
- S Patel
- N Patrick
- C Smith
- K Taylor
- (vacancy)

### Green (1)

G Simpson